15# felt on exterior

Started by brianandrea, January 03, 2012, 09:49:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

brianandrea

Hello.  I am Brian.  I have recently purchased the small house plans.  I have been researching items in the purpose of preparing for the future build.  I am in Montana, central,  and have been researching vapor barriers.  I have an understanding that I should put my vapor barrier on the inside of the structure.  I have noted that a lot of the builders on this site use a tar paper on the outside of the OSB prior to the application of there siding.  My question is what is the point of the paper?  Is it factory recommended per siding manufacturer?  Would "tyvek" perform the same purpose?  I am an electrician, and have never seen tar paper under siding on newer homes.

Thank you for any input, and education.

Sincerely,
Brian

MountainDon

The #15 felt on exterior walls is called a weather resistant barrier in the building codes. It's purpose is to block air infiltration and liquid water. It is not a vapor barrier.

Vapor barriers are things like polyethylene plastic sheet or a vapor retarder like the paper on batt insulation, would be installed on the inside of the framing once the wall cavities have been insulated, in your climate.

Tar paper was the norm before manufacturers developed the synthetics like Tyvek. There are varying opinions on which is best. One big feature of the synthetics house wraps is they are light weight and come in 9 foot wide rolls. It's quicker for a work crew to install housewrap than to do the job with tar paper (building felt). Hence contractors like it.

Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn't mean it is good design.

Don_P

w*, Your first few sentences sound like an AA meeting intro.

MD types quicker  :)