16 x 28 Shed/Workshop in Northern Delaware

Started by Paul_R, December 15, 2014, 11:50:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Paul_R

I am a newbie to posting on the forum, but I have been reading here as much as I can in preparation for the spring building of a 16' x 28' structure that will initially be a storage shed with the plan of it one day becoming a proper woodworking workshop. For starters, I'm trying to keep the footprint under 480 square feet, but to also "future proof" it by thinking through how I might evolve and expand the interior usable space as time goes by.

To obtain center headroom in the 1/2 story of at least six feet, I have drawn up a preliminary sketch using the raising plate that Don_P demonstrated here (thank you sir!): http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=6732.0

Here is my design based on the raising plate concept. Twenty-foot 2x10 ceiling joists span the width of the building, extending almost 2 feet beyond the wall where they support a trimmed 2x12 raising plate that is tied into the 2x6 rafters that run from the ridge board. A trimmed 2x10 serves as the subfascia. Everything is lined up 16" o.c.

What do you think about the raising plate concept? There is so very little information online about it and I am wondering if it will be a tough sell to the engineer and/or building inspector. If I skipped the raising plate and used plywood gussets at the ceiling joist and rafter intersection and then again at the ridge to form giant trusses, would that improve the structure and my chances for approval? Do I need a short knee wall (see Don_P's drawing in the post above) to support or break up the rafter run? A no.1/premium 2x6 douglas fir rafter is almost maxed out on the horizontal span out to the rafter/joist intersection. Do I need to go to 2x8s for rafters?