Why no basements?

Started by ballen, January 20, 2009, 10:32:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ballen

Hi All, Newbie here.  Love the forum so far.

I am just beginning to design my small home in the woods, probably in the 280 sq. ft. range.

It seems as though most folks don't dig a basement.  I feel a basement would be very handy considering the small size of our homes.  What are the issues? Cost? Moisture? Rocks?

My land is very rocky but I figure if I dig a basement, I will have lots of material to build stone basement walls and foundation. 

Why aren't basements more common?

All comments welcome.
Thanks 
currently designing my small house in the woods

glenn kangiser

w* to the forum ballen.

Maybe cost of excavating and ease of building above ground? 

In deep frost areas they make a lot of sense.  JUst a little more to get below the freeze level and it just as well be a room.  I sort of live in a basement -- I like it.  Lots of light here though the way it is designed. :)

We do have a few members that have basements though.  I say good idea.
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

MountainDon

First, basements are more common in some parts of the country than others.

But even back home where everyone in the city had a basement, virtually none of the vacation homes used basements.  ??? ???

Where I live in NM, almost nobody has a basement be it their full time home or a second home in the desert or mountains. I believe when it's not necessary to do deep foundations for frost reasons, it's simply less expensive. When it comes to a owner builder situation it's my opinion that many of us don't own the equipment and don't want to pay someone else to dig a big hole.
Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn't mean it is good design.

Okie_Bob