Counties with few, none or cheap permits

Started by Aerco, January 31, 2016, 12:18:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Aerco

I am sure this subject has come up before and will again.  But if anyone here has first hand knowledge of counties where it is possible to build your own small home without forking out thousands or even tens of thousands for permits, I would love to know.  I really want to build a modest place of my own, in  my own way, without having to pander to to officials and other people's notions of how I should live.   And I know there will be a few people here who will tell me that permits and codes are all about safety and blablabla... I don't need to hear it.  I'm a self-taught engineer and I have been involved with designing and building airplanes and you can be quite sure that I value keeping my warm pink flesh intact, whether  in an airplane or in my home.   Permits are primarily about revenue gathering and controlling people. If you wish to argue the point, fine , but this post is not about the merits of that, I simply would like to know from people who had first hand experience with dealing with local bureaucracy that wasn't overly authoritarian or insanely expensive.

Do you know a place? Let me know!

MushCreek

I feel the same way! Unfortunately, in this day and age, things have certainly changed. A couple things to consider are whether or not an insurance company will cover your place, and re-sale if you ever want to do that. I would like to see a rule that you can build whatever you want on your own property, so long as it doesn't cause any harm to your neighbors. That, and it would have to pass an inspection before it could be sold to the next owner. I have no problem with someone living in a run-down shack with bare wires hanging out if they so desire, but they shouldn't be able to sell it to an unsuspecting party.