Helical piles vs. Poured piers on red clay

Started by jlbuildings, November 05, 2020, 10:49:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jlbuildings

Long before I was building for a living (partly), I was on here figuring out how to build my first little shed... so hoping some of yall can chime in to help out with this!

I'm designing a pier & beam foundation for a 28'x28' octagonal building southeast of Austin. Open crawlspace, so no continuous stem wall. Soil is hard, expansive red clay, with a fair amount of rocks. No live water. Building codes don't apply here, but I build way above code when I do pier & beam.

What's my best bet to make a foundation that doesn't move for 200 years, short of drilling 50' down to bedrock? I thought of 2 options:

(1) Concrete – Place each beam on 5'oc concrete piers, sitting on a 3' W x 18" D x 30' long strip footing running the length of the building. Tons of rebar and mud, spreading those pier-point-loads out real good. But the question is: how deep do you dig? 3 options:

(A) We could just go at it with the backhoe and see if we hit rock. But say we hit rock at one end of trench, but not the other. The ends are gonna settle very differently over the years, making us worse off than if we just...

(B) Go down ~3-4' and stop. Builders around here typically go 2' down.

(C) Hire a geotech. But the soil varies a lot here (4 acres away, neighbors hit solid rock 6' down, other neighbors didn't at 18' down), and I worry that a boring taken at Point A isn't really telling for Point B. Some geotechs acknowledge this, others rail against it. Some sources say "with expansive clay, you either hit rock or you're gambling."

(2) Helical/screw piles – consensus online is "Perfection! But 3 downsides..."