Little House Plans

Started by sherman, September 18, 2009, 03:09:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sherman

I purchased the little house plans from you a couple years ago and am finally getting started on building a 12 x 16 shed.  I have two questions for you. I am going to have to make my own pier blocks as they are not available here with the Simpson connectors. What type of cement should I use.  Is the bag concrete mix for fence posts ok, or should I plan on making a mixture of sand and cement? Is it better to make 12" x 12" pier blocks or to make the concrete block pier you show on the 16' x 28' foot cabin handout. I guess the concrete question stays the same either way.

Also, on the beam sizing. I am placing the pier block set-up with gravel and concrete pads on 6' centers. Do I still need a 10" beam or can I use a 8" beam??

This is my first building project and things are still a bit confusing.

Thanks for your help.

Suzanne

MountainDon

w* to the CPForum suzanne!

Regarding the concrete the ready bag mix like Quikrete is fine. The most common fault of mixing concrete is to use too much water. Quikrete gives a wide range (60# start with 4 pt o water add 4 - 7 pt, 80# start with 6 pt  add 6 - 9 pt). Mix well and get it all damp wet. The mix should be fairly stiff. The next most common fault is to let the mixed concrete dry out too fast. Keeping it covered with plastic will slow the evaporation. Concrete solidifies, cures, through a chemical reaction not by evaporation. Moisture is required for the curing.

If you are placing the piers on 6 ft centers I believe the 4x10 beam would be advised. I'm certain John will check in and give us his advice on that. That may be a built up beam if you have trouble finding a real 4x10.

http://www.countryplans.com/builtupbeam.html

Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn't mean it is good design.

MountainDon

Whether to use a ground block or a deeper pier...