Building "Green"

Started by John_M, February 25, 2009, 02:45:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

John_M

I love this website becasue it has really helped me design and build my cabin and I am really proud of what I have accomplished so far!!

I am also a high school science teacher and this year I am teaching an AP Environmental Science class.  It has really opened my eyes to what we are doing to our planet and has really got me thinking of ways in my everyday life to live "greener".

What I have found out through some research and constant discussions with my students is that living "green" or even building "green" is in most cases really expensive.

I know you can build with reclaimed materials and things like that but in most situations installing a solar electrical system or geothermal heating system has an enormous upfront cost.

If you want to buy a hybrid vehicle....the cost is much higher than a regular vehicle.  Any building suplly that labels itself as "green" seems to have a much higher price tag!!!!

A great example is an article I just read about a new structure built in Maine called the BrightBuilt Barn (It has been mentioned on this site before).  It is a 700 squarefoot home that is ultra efficient.  Claims to not even need a furnace!!  In fact it is "net zero plus" which means it creates more energy than it uses.  It is really a cool looking place.

Here is the issue though...base price "just under $200,000".  Things like water, septic, electrical are extra!!!  Great idea but an enormous cost!!  With the economy the way it is, it will be more and more difficult to have people on this planet live "green".

www.brightbuiltbarn.com