a small cabin in mn

Started by theshack, September 26, 2007, 11:37:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

theshack

Hello all, I have spent lots of time on the forum and learned tons of stuff, so thanks to everyone who has helped out with my project. I have a few questions, and am attaching a few old pictures, as I have no new ones yet. I will post more when I get them from my buddies. I have a few questions though. What do you guys do for off-grid heating?  Keep in mind I'm a full time college student living 3.5 hours away from here now just scraping any material I can for this with an occaisional splurge. I would have to say I have about $2000 into it so far and I have all my overlooks done and subfascia on, but only two pieces of sheeting on the roof, but the rush has begun to have it dried in by winter.I will have a generator that I will be charging batterys for just minimal compact flourescent light, and I plan on maybe getting a small solar panel or two. Im looking for two ideas for heat, one temporary for the winter just to keep it working temperature inside, and one more permanent wood burning option. This is a 14x18 cabin with 8 and a half foot walls, and a 8x12 vaulted ceiling. Still planning the half loft out. And I really dont know how it got so high off the ground, I just wanted it to be easy to insulate at a later time but kinda went over board. You guys have been a lot of help already, so thanks a lot. Oh and is there a link somewhere on posting pictures? Thanks again

Mark L.

theshack

Just another picture. Yes I should have run the sheeting the other way I know but hey you learn from your mistakes and I haven't ever built a house before.  

Mark L.

MountainDon

Welcome aboard!