Its that time of year to get your furnace checked

Started by Brian_G, December 09, 2011, 09:56:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brian_G

I know I do not post often but this is an area that i am an expert in so I will give a little advice. First a background on me for all you so you all understand where I am coming from. I have done residential and light commercial HVAC service for over 15 years. I am certified Nate certified and hold many other manufacturer certifications. So where am I going with this?

Quite simple get your furnace checked at least once a year by a reputable company. Why ? well I now live in SC and its been to this point in the 50 degree range for the past month not too much need for heat, on an average day I see between 2 and 4 customers since November 1st I have found over 100 cracked heat exchangers! Yes that is correct over 100 there are days when I have found more than one and one day I found 5! Just because there is a crack does not mean that there is Carbon monoxide all the time a lot of factors figure into the production of CO but a crack increases your chance of a incedent (that can be deadly) 100x. 

One of the most common answers that I hear back when this is brought up is I have a carbon monoxide detector. that is great but read into the specifications of what you have, the ones the big box stores sell generally do not start reading till 200+ parts per million of CO way to high a level. For a co detector search the web for a company named NSI (no relations to me) they are a bit pricier (about $120) but they start detecting at 4 parts per million.

The second most common thing I hear is " my furnace is only x years old" This is not a saving point either as I have found cracks in units as new as 2 years old !

like I said all natural gas, propane and oil furnaces should be checked yearly an $89 service call is cheap compared to what the outcome of a problem could be.