Solar salt box chimney flue size

Started by Thfrawley, March 26, 2013, 02:10:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thfrawley

Hello!
     This is my first time posting though I have been lurking on the site for several years now. My brother and I started building the 24' x 36' solar saltbox in 2010 on a small island located on Maine's midcoast. Progress has been slow but steady as I work on boats and am frequently at sea during the majority of the building season. Last fall we shingled the roof, installed the skylights and finished constructing the hearth and chimney. Before I begin working on siding, plumbing, and electricity this spring I would like to install a wood stove. Having already constructed the chimney with a 12" (10" interior diameter) clay flue liner (as per the plans), I am meeting some resistance from local wood stove dealers who seem to suggest that the stove sizes required to heat 1500 square feet are most commonly designed with 6" flues. What was the reason for the 12" chimney flue? Will I have trouble lighting and keeping a fire going if use a series of collars and adapters to make up the difference? Thanks in advance!

John Raabe

That was the size of the flue that was recommended by the mason. However, in our own home we found that after many years of use the larger flue did have creosote problems and we have recently installed a 6" diameter stainless steel flue liner. It has been much easier to keep clean since.
None of us are as smart as all of us.

rick91351

Lots of people here where we burn a lot of pine and whatever we get our hands on have converted their flues to stainless flue liners......as you say so much easier to keep clean....  Well worth the money. 
Proverbs 24:3-5 Through wisdom is an house builded; an by understanding it is established.  4 And by knowledge shall the chambers be filled with all precious and pleasant riches.  5 A wise man is strong; yea, a man of knowledge increaseth strength.

flyingvan