Bergey Wind Generator -

Started by Okie_Bob, October 01, 2007, 05:37:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Okie_Bob

Split this off from the roof insulation topic to keep from drifting too bad. :)  GK

Hey Glenn, how did I miss the fact that you have a Bergey Wind Generator? Tell me all about it. I looked at them awhile back but, got scared off due to a lack of wind where we are.
It must be a great product, it's made in Norman, OKLAHOMA!!!!
Okie Bob
PS: almost forgot, I finally got a Pickett slide rule before I graduated from OU. They are metal and all were a yellow color as far as I know. They were the hottest things going way back then!!!

glenn-k

Norman, Oklahoma.  Is that a small province in China, BoB? :-?

The manufacturer is in Oklahoma but I am sure I saw China somewhere on the parts... but non-the-less, it is likely one of the best wind generators on the market.  I have heard horror stories about some of the others.  A dealer told me he sold 6 of some other brand and had to take them all back due to major problems -- burning up etc.  No problems with the Bergey.  Just hook it up and go.

It comes with a fairly sophisticated controller that steps up the low voltage (low wind conditions)  to usable voltage for charging 24v batteries- a circuit breaker, solar regulator for a hybrid system and a circuit for a dump load regulator to burn off excess power as you should not take a wind generator off line-- they go wild in the wind when unloaded.  They fold sideways to control excess wind so they won't fly apart.

I designed and built my own 85 foot tower from things I learned from their instruction manual and I did sneak in a couple questions to the factory rep.  I'm a bit of a tightwad and a couple grand is a couple grand. :)

Okie_Bob