Building difficulty for novices

Started by blu1wolf, October 13, 2009, 10:02:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

blu1wolf

Hi,

We are looking at building a small home on our newly purchased 7 acres of woods. I am wondering if anyone has any feedback on if something like the firstday cottage would be easier to build than the 1.5 story cottage that is on country plans? We are mostly new to building but have puttered with some much much smaller projects. We are looking for something 1 to 2 people could do with minimal outside help, that is not too expensive to build and goes up fairly quickly as it will be camping on the land once our house sell and closes (hopefully in early summer 2010) with 2 small children. Did I mention this in in upstate NY, so there is no building until frost breaks in march or april?? Thanks for any input!  -

OlJarhead

I'm not a novice so to speak, since I used to frame houses and condo's some 17 years ago -- but I'm a novice in the same sense.

So, if that makes any sense to you.... ;)

I'm building the 14x24 builders cottage and have found a couple of things that might be of help:

1.  These forums are a boon of information and there are many here who will gladly answer your questions.
2.  It's not so much hard to build a small house as it is to make the right choices and not to be influenced by you natural tendency to do things cheaper....read some of my posts...

My advice is to start small -- maybe even really small -- and build the 10x12 with shed roof maybe.  Then from there advance to a larger more complex building.

But I'm still working on mine so what am I saying!? *snicker*

MountainDon

w*

From what I've heard of First Day, they are a good company to deal with and builders of their homes have been happy with the product. However, the cost of the completed structure will cost more than something built from a set of plans and a pile of lumber.