Building plans: Which one would work for my needs?

Started by CaliGrlinWV, April 09, 2012, 07:58:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CaliGrlinWV

Hello. I am in need of a 10 x 20 (or 12 x 18) open concept building plan. I need 9 - 10 feet in height. I will be using it as an art studio on my property. That's why I need the height.  I want a flat roof. And I don't need a loft. Which building plan would work? I am a total novice. Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Marisol

MountainDon

Have a look at the Little House plans.

Flat roof?  Snow area? Maybe not so good unless built really stout.
Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn't mean it is good design.

CaliGrlinWV

Thank you so much for your prompt response.  I do live in an area that snows a lot in the winter. So I should build it with a slope?  Do the "Little House" plans include the 10 foot walls with sloping roof? Or would I need to tweak those plans? Thanks again.

Marisol

John Raabe

The Little House plans do not have the 10' walls with the let-in ledger for the loft floor. That is in the 20' wide 1-1/2 story.

The Little House has a "crawl-in" type loft where the rafters connect to the loft floor joists to form a triangle. These can certainly sit on top of 9' or 10' tall walls.

For snow areas the steep roof is better able to shed snow. If you are doing a low slope roof you will need to check the rafters as they may need to be deeper depending on the design load for the roof. The advantage is that deeper rafters allow for more insulation.

None of us are as smart as all of us.

John Raabe