out of square ...........

Started by astidham, February 16, 2014, 08:59:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

astidham

I messed up.
I framed up the walls on my build, and didnt check it for square untill I finished decking the 2nd floor  d*
Im not sure what I was thinking, but im out of square.
Diagonal measurement should be 36' 3" 5/32
One diagonal is 36' 4"
The other is 36' 2"
The deck is level.
working on my build so intermittently because of nasty weather has led me to go 100 miles an hour and make a pretty bad mistake..
Upstairs framing hasnt started yet, any thoughts?
"Chop your own wood and it will warm you twice"
— Henry Ford

flyingvan

That would make your 90 degree corners 89.813826 on the acute side.... I figure you are 99.79314% accurate.  I'm no building engineer but seems to me that's close enough.  I doubt an inspector will notice, and I doubt the walls below will be noticably out of plumb.  You probably already know your options---
1) Tear up the decking, square things up, re-apply the decking
2) Live with it

I'd opt for #2.  I think you'd weaken everything more by tearing up the decking than any strength you'd gain. 
Find what you love and let it kill you.

astidham

Quote from: flyingvan on February 16, 2014, 10:15:31 PM
That would make your 90 degree corners 89.813826 on the acute side.... I figure you are 99.79314% accurate.  I'm no building engineer but seems to me that's close enough.  I doubt an inspector will notice, and I doubt the walls below will be noticably out of plumb.  You probably already know your options---
1) Tear up the decking, square things up, re-apply the decking
2) Live with it

I'd opt for #2.  I think you'd weaken everything more by tearing up the decking than any strength you'd gain.
Thanks flyingvan.
Option 2 does sound better than 1
— Henry Ford

Don_P