More walls heights on Victoria Studio--I'm sorry for being slow

Started by Wsgain, December 13, 2011, 11:20:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wsgain

I am sorry for being kinda dense on the question of wall heights.  I am new to this stuff but I am motivated to learn.  Like others I am trying to figure out what I can and can't do with the basic studio version of the Victoria's cottage.  The cross section shows 12 ft walls and the plan view says "modify loft as needed" or something like that.  It doesn't mention reducing wall height if a complete loft is not used.  Some built versions I see in the projects section have a front and rear loft with a bridge; some have a complete loft. 

Like most people I would like the world to be a magic place where I get what I want (lots of room) without having to pay for it (structure): that would be something like a beautiful cathedral ceiling over a large living area with a spacious loft upstairs in just over 400 square feet.

Here is the question I think I should ask:   I will be building in NC.  They seem strict but snow loads are not a major issue.  I will, of course in the end have to rely on the building permit folks to approve whatever I choose to do.  In the mean time, the Victoria's cottage specifies beams for floor joists under the loft.  Can this beam structure be used to support 12 walls in the cathedral area without being fully planked with 2x6's?   I could imagine that this is the situation with the front-loft-and-bridge combination I have seen (open spaces on the side) but I am not sure these don't also require 10-ft walls.  Is there anything in between a completely floored loft and having an engineer design a special wall that might preserve our 12 foot wall height? 

Thank you very much for your help.  This site has been great.  I am sorry for being repetitive of other posts.  I just want to make sure I understand exactly what I am reading before I take the next step.

Scott (Victoria's Cabbage)

Don_P