Framing the gable walls in a 20' wide 1 1/2 story

Started by BigMish, April 01, 2007, 05:42:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BigMish

I don't find any information on framing the gable walls in the plans so here are some questions I have:
Are they framed with 2x6s?
I assume they would be positioned like regular studs (perpendicular to the plates), if so how are the end trusses built up to 5 ½" (or 3 ½ if the studs are 2x4s) in order to serve as nailers for these studs?
I studied the method used in Nash's DIY Homebuilding and the last method (where a ceiling nailer is nailed to the collar tie) which would work but the gussets would get in the way of the nailer....

Thanks, Mischa

PEG688

MTL 2x6's framed under your  gable truss,  I don't have that plan so it's guess.

This is a ballon framed gable wall with 2x12 rafters , your truss's should be some what similar I'd think.

The way I do it is loft ( a boat builders term ) / layout , the gable end on the floor then frame it laying down , lift the wall the rafters  or truss would go right over the top of the wall.

This one as it wasn't a ballon framed gable end we did the roof then framed in the 2x6 gable wall under it , so it depends on your plans / project, it aslo might depend on how many people you'd have to raise the wall . On the balloned one we had wall jacks , and just two of us . So that would be a condideration as well.

When in doubt , build it stout with something you know about .

BigMish