Builders Cottage with wrap around porch to carport or garage

Started by JDsCPlansLogin, March 16, 2014, 10:40:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JDsCPlansLogin

Hello everyone,

I just recently joined the forum. I'm enjoying all the great info that is available and reading through everyone's experience's. It's awesome to have a resource like this!! This is my first time posting so thanks in advance.  ;D

I'm in the planning stages of building my own place. Currently, I'm leaning toward the 14 X 24 Builders Cottage. Of course, I'd like to make a few changes. I would appreciate any feedback before I purchase the Builders Cottage/Enchilada Plans set.

Oh, I will be building in Central OR. Roof snow load (minimum) is typically 30 psf and it can/does get really cold. It's in the high desert, so humidity is typically low.

Here are my comments/questions:

1) I will go with the 12 ft. high sidewalls to increase the useable loft space. From what I read, this detail is included in the plans and should be simple to do. Do you think the detail, shown in the plans, will be sufficient for my permit/building department? Will I need an engineers stamp? I'm assuming not?

2a) I may want to increase the total length by 10 or 12 ft which would allow me to: add a full, U-shaped staircase; increase the living room space; and increase the depth in one, or both, lofts. I should be able to modify the plans fairly easily to accommodate the increased length, correct? Could I use BHG 8.0 software to do this? (See question #9)

2b) Where would the best place be to put the full staircase? I'm thinking where the 'Window Seat/Bed' is shown. NOTE: In lieu of the full staircase, I wouldn't mind a 'pull down' attic staircase and connect the lofts with a cat walk. I've seen other members do that is it looks great. I would consider a spiral staircase too which I think might save some space?