Trouble deciding how to do foundation

Started by Alan Gage, March 31, 2011, 08:04:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alan Gage

The old house is almost torn down and soon it will be time to pour the foundation for the new place (1000 sq. ft. single story double stud wall in NW Iowa). I'm really struggling trying to decide how to do it though. I'm new to concrete so maybe I'm just psyching myself out.

I know it will be a slab on grade and will be heavily insulated. But what's the best way to get there?

A Frost Protected Shallow Footing monolithic slab would certainly seem to be the easiest way but since I'll be insulating under the slab as well (4" EPS) I'll need a lot of horizontal insulation extending away from the footing to pull it off, like 4-5' worth. I also have to worry about the detail between the exterior insulation on the foundation and the house wall. The easiest way around that would be to build the outside wall with 2x6 and let it hang over the edge of the foundation 1 1/2 inches so after the sheathing is installed it would be flush with the foam (assuming I used 2" there). I'd like to build it from 2x4 though since I saved enough from the old house to frame both walls (inside and outside).

So I'm looking for other options that would let me use 2x4 for the outside wall and limit the use of foam (for practical and environmental reasons). That got me thinking about a full depth frost wall (4') and only using foam on the inside. Under the slab and as a short vertical thermal break between the slab and frost wall (not insulating the full 4 vertical feet)