1 1/2 story in Alaska with pictures

Started by sdextereo, June 01, 2008, 10:09:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sdextereo

Hello, I have been away for a while now. I have been working on a house in the almost bush of Alaska.
I started with a set of plans for the big enchilada, but decided it was not right for me, so I decided to use my carpentry skills and the tips from the forum to build a 1 1/2 story house measuring 24x32. I have finally finished the exterior framing and am getting ready to put a galvalum metal roof on.
I am new to this picture posting thing, so any advice would be appreciated.
It is summer here now and I will probably work on the interior during the winter.

Redoverfarm

sdextereo I found that Photobucket is the best approach for me with the photos. There was a tread made concerning how to use Photobucket in this forrum.  I am sure a search will find it for you. 

n74tg

Go to Forum News.  There is a bold face topic called "Photobucket, How To".  It will show you how to do all you need.

Looking forward to pics of your place. 
My house building blog:

http://n74tg.blogspot.com/

glenn kangiser

Photobucket has changed a few times but that should still get you going. Add pix there- copy the bottom IMG tag and paste it in your reply.  It will appear here.
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

sdextereo

THanx for the help. I will attempt to paste some pictures now.

sdextereo

Wow it works.
well here I go.
This is late October I got my piers poured during the summer.
Our frost level is 5 feet most people like to dig 6 feet deep for extra insurance.
I went with a shallow frost protected insulated 10 piers with a redibase. my pier depth is 2.5 feet. I ran 2" xps blueboard under and beyond 4' for a total of 1008 square feet.