KY 24 x 24 lake cabin

Started by dylansdad63, January 20, 2009, 12:09:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dylansdad63

i have been visiting this website for sometime now and I just wanted to say thanks to evryone for the posts.  They not only are helpful but they give others hope that they to can accomplish a dream.  I own a small lot on a lake here in KY.  It seems that everything I want to do gets turned down some how.  I keep letting my wife look at some of the posts here an she has finally told me that I can build on the property.  I have no real building experience but I do have patience and seem to pick things up very easily.  I just wanted to get some thoughts from the experienced before I proceed.

I am looking to build a 24 x 24 cabin.  My wife wants a loft.  Does the loft complicate things?  Does the loft make the build that much harder for the novice?

Has anyone had experience with composting toilets?  The lot is capable of having a septic but the septic system will almost cost as much as the cabin.  This is just a weekend retreat so I can't justify putting that kind of money in a septic.  The lot currently has an outhouse which seems to not have been used in 3-5 years.  If you install a composting toilet where does your wast water go.  I spoke with the heath dept. here and they said i couldn't do it.  I am wondering if this is fact or if it is just because i was not very educated about waste water. 

Lastly, is building on a grade much more difficult.  I am looking at a post and pier foundation but the grade where the health dept. told me to build is steep.  Further down the lot is a flat area where and old cabin was but that is where the septic must go according to the health dept.

Any feedback will be helpful.  I am looking to get started in late Feb. early March. 

Thanks

Will

phalynx