Fireplace help.

Started by Okie_Bob, September 07, 2006, 01:58:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Okie_Bob

I want to add a direct vent fireplace to my lake house. Currently, I have the outside completed except for paint and nothing done yet on the inside.
I found a Regency propane direct vent fireplace on the internet that looks like what I have in mind. Problem is the two dealers in my area are both out of business. I emailed the company direct but, they won't sell direct to me but, will sell to my local Ace HW store to resell to me. Problem with that is I am not a contractor so Ace is not supposed to sell direct to me either.
Now, I'm not a professional builder and am sure there is a lot I don't know about building a fireplace but, it is NOT rocket science and their own installation instructions seem pretty simple and straight forward.
Guess my question is, have any of you ever installed a direct vent fireplace? If so, where did you purchase it?
Are there any issues that don't pop out at you from a safety standpoint? Am I being unrealistic believing I could do this myself?
Any comments would be greatly appreciated.
Okie Bob
Somewhere in East Texas!

Mark_Chenail

If you dont have a contractor friend, call one up and offer him a good steak dinner if he will place the order for you.   A little baksheeesh is NOT unheard of in the building trades.   Good luck with it. ;)

mark
mark chenail

mclausen

I have installed one gas fireplace and one lp fireplace myself.  I guess I have not had any problems, as I am still alive  :).  In Minnesota, it is not a problem to purchase and install your own fireplace.  Check for local codes that may require an inspector to come out and leak test the system.  I did this myself, but most fireplace stores will send a tech out to inspect your work, which if nothing else is good peace of mind.  I would rather spend $100 for someone to check my work than blow up my house and family.

Amanda_931