Front Royal VA, house size TBD

Started by JonTheArmyGuy, March 01, 2015, 09:15:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JonTheArmyGuy

Whats up everyone my names John. I have been on this site for years just as a reader and have been inspired to build my own home as well! I am looking at property in front royal Virginia (have some family out there) and should be purchasing in the next few weeks. The land is going to be a small mountain lot probably .5 - 1 acre already perced. I am thinking about the 20x34 two story with a very open lower and upper level. I have heard that foundation costs are ruffly the same as well can anyone give me some advice? especially things to study when looking into lots to build on. any info is greatly appreciated as i am completely new to this, never been into construction but I learn things fairly quickly. will be on frequently to reply. thanks :)

Don_P

w*
I'm not sure I understand the foundation question  ??? VA is using the 2012 code, a block or poured foundation is prescriptive, just build according to the codebook tables and descriptions. Piers require engineering.

If you did what we did today, look for where the snow is gone! I prefer a south facing to a north, an east facing over a west. South can give you light and warmth in the winter, east wakes me up where west burns me up in summer as the sun hangs long and low enough to really penetrate in and overheat things. Trees can affect all of that. I like the north face in summer but it's too depressing in winter when I've gotta have some sun. No outcrops on or near a small lot. I like woods but think about whether you want a garden.

Redoverfarm