Rafter/Dormer/Spreading questions

Started by AaronB, January 12, 2013, 06:58:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

AaronB

I am not a carpenter by trade and I've never worked with rafters. All the projects I've worked on have always used trusses. I've also never worked with dormers or a loft area like I'm thinking of doing.

That said, I've created a  few drawings that I hope illustrate what I've come up with after doing my reading and research.

I want to build a 16'x26' house with 10' high walls and a loft over the back 10' of it which would have a kitchen and bathroom located under the loft area. The roof in the loft would have an 8' wide shed dormer on one.

The roof would be 12:1 pitch. The rafters would be 2x8s on 16" centers. The front 16' would be open to below. I planed on putting a 2x6 ceiling joist every 48" and tripling it up just so it looks like a heavier beam (this is colored in green in one of the pictures). One of my questions is, would that be enough to prevent spreading in the front 16' if these ceiling joists are spaced every 4 feet?

The back 10' would have a loft. I've seen where people use ledgers and hangers to build the loft, but I wanted to use 2x8s across the 16' width with a bearing wall separating the kitchen from the bathroom (that wall isn't depicted in drawings). That means the 2x8s span 10' at maximum.  Also, I wanted to support the ends of the loft floor joists in the walls using jack studs; is that acceptable? Will that prevent spreading in the rafters above the loft?

I wanted to create an 8' wide shed dormer above the loft. Is that too wide? Can I do it the way I've drawn it or is there some major issue I'm not understanding?

Loft Cross Section

Open Ceiling Cross Section

Thank you

flyingvan