8X12 Cabin/Shed

Started by JC1001, January 07, 2015, 04:34:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JC1001

Hello everyone  - Lurking for a few months now and recently purchased the Big Enchilada plans.
I have no experience in construction and have learned a ton for all of you already - thanks! All your stories are very inspiring!

I have a few acres in Texas that I am planning to build on in 2 phases:

1. Build small 8x12 cabin/shed --- to learn construction principles before doing anything larger
   2. Build a larger cabin after the small one  --- some version of John's plans

I do not have plans for the 8x12, but have been dabbling in Sketchup as you see here.
   - Roof will be 10/12
   - 8 foot walls
   - I want one half of the 8x12 to have a loft

I am not confident on how to structurally accommodate the vaulted / open ceiling  necessary for the loft. I've read a lot about how it is  necessary to keep the walls from spreading. Being inexperienced, I do not desire to use a ridge beam and it may be overkill for this size structure. My plan was to use 2x6 trusses (with 2x4 bottom chord) tied together with gussets on the side that does not have the loft. On the side that does have the loft, to use 2x8 rafters (no bottom chord) with 2x6 floor joist about 1' 9" below the top plate for the loft. Collar joist on the rafters on this side would be easy to accommodate.

My sketchup shows this approach - sorry could not get a real clear angle of it all - but you can see the 2x6 trusses on the left side, and the 2x8 rafters on the right (actually, as the sketchup is a work in progress, all rafters on the right but 1 are depicted as 2x6 - I will update to 2x8). I also used a 2x6 truss on the gable end on the loft side.  (My Sketchup does not show the collar joist I could put on the rafters). I went with 2x8 rafters so that the rafters would be deep enough to accommodate a deep birds mouth cut necessary to make the exterior of the roof align in a single plane.