New Member here going to give it a try

Started by vern38, August 01, 2006, 08:04:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

vern38

Actually I was searching the internet for small cabin plans and stumbled across this site. I just ordered The Whole Enchilada plans package and plan on building the 14x24 cottage. I have no home building experience other than furniture and maintenance so this should be a challenge. I did build a storage building in the spring of 2000 with no plans, all I did was look at a few pictures and an old book on framing and made a go for it. (See Pics Below) I was really caught up in reading the stories of other members like the 17 year old girl and the disabled man and his blind friend who built these homes and it was a true inspiration. Anyway I am looking for a more simple way of life and plan on finding some property in the Texas Hill Country and building my and my wife's retirement getaway.

Reason for the change in life, I had a stroke in Feb. and my wife just went threw cancer surgery and treatment, it can and did change me. We are living the all American dream right now nice house, fancy cars, RV, really good jobs but my job is a very high stress job and it just isn't worth it any more. I would rather be happy than stressed all the time soooo that's my story and I'm sticking to it. Hope to be on the forum more and will post some pics when the project is underway, the plan is to try and start on my birthday in September. The big 50 ;)

Vern

jwv

D*%n Vern,

Took alot to get your attention, huh?  ;)

Just think of a house as 3 of those sheds put together, with plumbing and electrical-but you can always sub those out if that's not your thing.  Your shed looks great.

I remember reading somehwere, maybe Rob Roy's book, that when you have your plans finalized fight the urge to "just add this or that" sq footage wise. That's how we get into projects we can't finish.

Here's an Early Retirement Forum you might enjoy: