Efficient design 20x20

Started by BlueRidge, December 10, 2016, 07:05:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BlueRidge

I'm not good at importing photos and drawings, if someone could go to the link and import these for discussion I would be most appreciative.

https://www.houseplans.com/plan/400-square-feet-2-bedrooms-1-bathroom-cottage-house-plans-0-garage-36143

This design looks very efficient, flexible, and uses small sizes of lumber to minimize cost.  Does anyone see problems with the design?

flyingvan

I'm assuming you like the 'type 2' on the left.

There are a few things I dislike about it.  First, the plumbing---the bathroom and kitchen are diagonally opposite.  Lot of piping, venting, waiting for hot water.... Also it's kind of odd to have then entry right there at the bedrooms.  Someone knocks on the door---can you hear?  Do you really want to come all the way downstairs to answer the door?  Coming home with groceries, or all your stuff if this is a rental---you have to carry it all upstairs before you can set it down.  I like to get through the door and set stuff down immediately.  How is it heated?  That steep, tall upstairs ceiling will draft warmth far away from the bedrooms, and cold bathrooms are no fun.   Fireplace upstairs makes for a cold downstairs.    Living room above bedroom can make it hard to sleep if some people stay up...  All in all I'd rather switch the upstairs for the downstairs.  Now for the framing---