Tiny Craftsman "Core" in the Ozarks. 81/2 ft x 18 ft.

Started by MartyM, March 20, 2012, 07:13:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MartyM

I want to thank you all for posting your builds you have been a big help in my planing and building ideas.   

I have been working on the Core of my cabin for about 10 months now and have been kicking my self for not starting this thread sooner, sorry folks.   Better late then never.    I have 1.5 acres in rural Arkansas.    My cabin site is a 9 hour drive from were I am currently living.  The 9 hour drive and my limited vacation time would make for a very slow build if I were to try and build on site. So I am taking a slightly unconventional approach to building my cabin.   The first phase will be the core of the cabin, it will contain my kitchen, bathroom a small sitting area and two sleeping lofts.  All this will be built on a 16 foot flat bed trailer and hauled down to Arkansas.  The Core could stay just as it is and be a great place to spend a few days or a few weeks at a time. My hope is to add on down the road as time and money permit.

I have taken a few photos of my progress along the way, but I I find myself forgetting and just moving on to the next step.  I hope that by sharing the build you folks will help keep me focused on the sharing part. 

Here is a few photos of the outside as it sits now.  Keep in mind it is in my driveway and its hard to get good pictures of the whole structure. 

The cabin will sit on a southern slope facing due south.  Here is a shot of what will be the west side, and my kitchen window.

A shot of the south face, and my front door.

And a shot of the north side with a bump out for a futon that will be both a couch and a spare bed.  The bump out will be removed for transport and then reinstalled  on site.