Building a Roadhouse 8'x12' cabin with a sod shed roof.

Started by Buddamonk, March 12, 2010, 05:27:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Buddamonk

I have recently accuired a small parsell of land on fellow Country Plans forum member Bobmarlons deep woods West Coast property. I plan build 8'x12' cabin with a shed roof. I want to have a sod roof so that my cabin is not an eye soar from Bobmarlons roadhouse cabin. I have been working construction on the west coast for the last 7 years. I have a really good idea of how I'm gonna frame this thing up, I'm just not sure how I'm gonna build and waterproof the shed roof so that I can put 4" of dirt on top of it and plant grass on the roof. Possibly have the tee box for a pitch and putt hole on the top of it. I would really appreciate any ideas on how to make this happen. I look forward to keeping you guys posted on the progress, it's gonna be a slow process since I'm gonna be a weekend warrior.   

Bobmarlon

Redoverfarm

w*

I know nothing of this type of construction but I do know that you should install a weatherproof membrane such as they use in pool material or flat roofs.  Keep us posted and make sure you include pictures.  Interesting build.  I am sure someone out there has "been there and done that" as they say and you might have to search a little for the right application.

Squirl

My understanding is that normally the shed roof doesn't have a great slope.  Then a EPDM layer is put down with great care not to put holes in it.  Then boxes are built over top and it is filled with a thin layer of gravel with drain holes in the box.  Then a loose soil with perlite is put in the boxes and planted with grass.  Just my basic understanding.

dug

Here's one that is next door to me-

It looks like the roof is started with closely spaced timbers, followed by perpendicular saplings, then heavy plastic and finally about a foot of dirt.