Need your ideas on a cabin.

Started by Sod Breaker, February 08, 2010, 01:58:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sod Breaker

I am in the begining stages of building a cabin.  At this point I am still trying to figure out costs and for that matter how big to build it.  The only I know right now is it can not be any more then 12FT wide I'm leaning more towards 8 Ft wide.  The reason is becuase it needs to be narrow enough that it could be transported down the road.  12ft could be transported with permits where as 8 Ft would not require any.  It will be built on skids   This cabin will be for semi-permanent occupancy, Other then that I don't know anything else.  I've never done this before but I figuire you guys are a smart bunch so I await your thoughts, ideas and expierence. 

Thanks, Sod Breaker

devildog

Does 10' need a permit? I think a couple of people on here built there cabin on skids. do a search and see what you find.
Darrell
Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference in the world. But, the Marines don't have that problem.
Ronald Reagan, President of the United States; 1985

RainDog

Here's a good resource for your needs:

http://tinyhouseblog.com/

They discuss exactly what you're doing, though it's generally less nuts and bolts than this site is. It's a great place to pick up some ideas, then come back here for specifics.
NE OK

poppy

Sod Breaker  w* to the forum.

So are you building it off site and then transporting it to the semi-permanent location or building it on site and then moving it later?

I think we need a little more background in order to start a good conversation.

John_M

I like the idea of going a bit wider than 8 feet!  Don't forget, once you take into account the thickness of your walls and interior wall coverings (drywall, pine boards, paneling)....you're probably dealing with an interior dimension of 7 feet 4 inches or less!!!