16' x 20' Bunkhouse in Northern Minnesota

Started by mnboatman, July 12, 2009, 02:06:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mnboatman

I'm new to the countryplans forum and have enjoyed reading about and learning from everyone's experiences.
I thought I would share my experiences in getting our place built.
In 2006 after a two years of looking for lakeshore, my wife and I purchased three acres of land on a 11,000 acre lake in Northern Minnesota. It is located 250 miles north of Minneapolis wher we live.
Here is what we saw when we viewed in in June:

The lot was part of a former church camp and was used as the playfield and beach. It came with a dock, outhouse and picnic table.

It was October when we closed on the property. I raced up there the next day with my boat and tent, planted 20 trees, set up a old swing set for my three year old daughter and shivered when it started to snow and blow.

The next spring I went up with a friend and planted 200 more trees and put the dock in. A few weeks later my son was born and all projects were put on hold.  Four months later we found a camper on eBay and had it delivered. We now had a civilized base to do things up there.  
In the spring of 2008 we decided we needed a shed. I was thinking Bunkhouse.
I found a place that could put up a large shed in a weekend and I could finish it off. We scheduled it for the last weekend in April. Two days before the weather forecast was for 14 inches of snow. We decided to wait two weeks. the snow melted but it was muddy.

A trailer load of supplies.

Pick a spot and put in 50 feet of drain tile to remove excess water:

Frame the floor joists. PT 2x6 joists 12" OC supported by four PT 4x4s on concrete blocks.

mnboatman

Frame the walls.

Check the view.

Frame three more walls and start the roof.

Let it snow overnight.

Clear off the snow and finish the roof, Install the windows and trim. Planted 75 trees and put in the dock.

mnboatman