New Place

Started by Chuck Adze, October 07, 2010, 04:55:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chuck Adze

Hi,
I am new to this site (great place).
I have presently been getting my third owner built home together.
Even though it is not one of the plans here (just found out about this site), I thought it might be good to post some photos.
This place will be mostly 1 floor, timber and possibly log construction.
Small timber king-post trusses in the great room.
I have been scrounging and collecting stuff for about 3+ years (get deals when I can), and started assembling the timbers about 2 years ago.

The timbers are hewn / adzed and I made steel pipe type connectors to use 3/4" Grade 8 bolts (Ogee washers, transistional iron and timber etc.) to assembly and dissasemble the timbers easily.

Redoverfarm

I am not getting the pictures to show up.

diyfrank

w*
Would like to see some pictures also.
Heres a how to for posting here.
http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=3512.0
Home is where you make it

Chuck Adze

Yeah...I am trying.....I am not the "sharpest tool" when it comes to computer stuff.
Okay.....how about this?

Chuck Adze

The above was early stages of trusses (I now have several of these), assembled and stacked to dry.
They will be posted, and have "ships knees" for braces (hopefully).

Here is another one;

I then use a flap disc to get off the heavy fur, will sand / stain them out, and mixed my own oil / varnish finish;

Hand hewn/adzed timber, that I adzed.
Lightly sanded, and now in process of determing what finish will be applied.
This finish is an oil based stain, followed by two coats of hand rubbed finish consisting of;

50% pure gum turpentine and 50% Poly varnish.

This finish was applied with a rag, and left to soak into the wood.

It has been in the weather for approximately two months with no ill effect, however I am concerned with flexiility of the finish and future cracking etc..

Next finish will be;

50% gum turpentine
40% spar varnish