Architect Police visit Owner Builder Consultant

Started by Garrett In Tahoe, March 21, 2008, 04:28:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Garrett In Tahoe

I recently exhibited in a Home and Garden Show. I've been a General Contractor for 28 years and have started a new program for Owner Builders who want to act as their own contractor. I was going about my business in the Show when two nice ladies came up to me regarding our program. I began by telling them an overview and they seemed interested. I then went into more description of our services and what all we offered. After about 10 minutes one gal asked " how could she get plans". I replied by saying we can direct you to local Architects, Residential Designers, or Plan Companies on the internet. She seemed satisfied by the response so I continued on for another 5 minutes or so. When I was finished she reached for a business card. Now I was thinking I was getting a lead but she stated "We are Investigators from the Board of Arhitecture and we checking to see if your are in compliance with the law!" I was dumbfounded and asked "well am I". She said not really, Owner Builders can not use plans other than those by an Architect of this state. I replyed by saying yes I know they have to be reviewed and stamped by one as well as a Structural Engineere and Soils engineer. No she said, the plans if purchased from a plan company will need to be completely redrawn. Now I was confused, why I asked. She stated there may be errors. I replied that I had never yet had a perfect set of plans from an Architect. She stated that "that was why they would have to be redrawn". Now totally confused I asked to see the law. She gave me the website and I looked it up later. The law in this State says that an Owner may provide his "own" plan or that of a Architect. Now "own" I guess is the key word. I beg to differ but I'm not convinced a plan reviewed and stamped by an Architect of the appropriate State is not ok. I would suggest that anyon