Simple Porch

Started by OlJarhead, September 10, 2010, 04:48:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

OlJarhead

OK so it's double 2x10's for the beams and two posts on blocks.

Question on bracing:  does it matter if they are like in this picture?  Or should braces meet on each post (in other words top to top, bottom to bottom etc.?

Never thought of it before I started drawing it.

Anyway, thanks again Don!   [cool]

Don_P

To timberframers a brace works in compression. It is tightly fitted into place and resists the angle it is supporting from "closing" or becoming more acute. They do not work well in tension, the end of the beam where the joint would be trying to become more obtuse. That's why you'll see them typically in opposing pairs in old work, each is bracing from one direction. Nailed on braces are kinda sketchy most of the time.

What I was proposing is to throw away the beams under the structure, make the rim a double 2x10, and inset it 1-1/2" into full height 6x6 corner posts. This would use the wall sheathing as the bracing.

OlJarhead

Quote from: Don_P on September 20, 2010, 07:30:28 AM
To timberframers a brace works in compression. It is tightly fitted into place and resists the angle it is supporting from "closing" or becoming more acute. They do not work well in tension, the end of the beam where the joint would be trying to become more obtuse. That's why you'll see them typically in opposing pairs in old work, each is bracing from one direction. Nailed on braces are kinda sketchy most of the time.

What I was proposing is to throw away the beams under the structure, make the rim a double 2x10, and inset it 1-1/2" into full height 6x6 corner posts. This would use the wall sheathing as the bracing.

For a temporary porch that seems like a lot of work Don.   I'm sure it's the strongest but I'm looking for an inexpensive design and build that will last a year or three before I tear it out and put in the surround porch/deck.