Stick frame rafters vs site-built truss for 20x30 1.5 story

Started by DutchMo, January 20, 2015, 04:40:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DutchMo

Hi all.  I recently got the 20x30 1.5 story plans and I'm still trying to wrap my head around some of the details.  I'm a novice at this so please excuse me if I am missing something obvious.

Just curious - is there any structural benefit to the site built trusses described in the 20x30 1.5 story plans, or is it just ease of assembly?  From the way the truss looks, it doesn't appear to prevent wall thrust the way an engineered truss would (hence why the rafter ties are still used across the open portion of the cathedral ceiling, right)?

Would there be any structural difference if I switched to a traditional ridge board and rafter build?  I'm thinking it might be easier to install  traditional rafters instead of trusses - especially if I made a temporary floor across the open section (from the loft area to the opposite wall). 

My reasoning is the Working Alone book recommends against trusses because they are unwieldy for a single person.  I'm not sure if that would require additional structural members, though.

John Raabe

To fully take the outward thrust off the sidewalls you would need a structural ridge beam that would need one or two bearing post(s) down to a foundation footing. Then all the loads will be downward. That should be sized locally for your snow loads.

You might explain the situation to the truss supplier as their trusses would likely be lighter than the site built design. They can probably deliver to the loft floor and may have a way to site assemble two sides.
None of us are as smart as all of us.

Don_P

A traditional ridgeboard and rafter roof system requires a tie across the lower third of the rafters to restrain outward spread. What John is proposing is a ridge beam that the rafters hang from. With that support there is no tie required.