Newbie here

Started by cacheriver, October 14, 2009, 11:11:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cacheriver

I've been lurking around for several months and I want to say I am impressed with all of you. You have given me some great ideas to run with. I am planning on building something after the first of the year hopefully. My first question since I am planning on using the Sonatubes is what is the best type of concrete to pour? I am not very familiar with concrete and I was planning on using Quickrete and then found out they have all different types so I was wondering what ya'll thought would be the best type of Quickrete to buy and use? Thanks in advance for any help.

Randy

ListerD

It would help to know what type of structure you're building and what your regional area is.
"We shape our dwellings, and afterwards our dwellings shape us" -- Winston Churchill

cacheriver

I am in Northeast Arkansas and I was going to try building a 20x30 cabin. Something like this but want it built on concrete piers.

MountainDon

w*

The standard yellow bag Quikrete will do the job. It's very important to not get the mix too wet. That is the most common error I've seen. How are you planning on mixing it? If you're going to have a power drum mixer you might want to think about buying a sand-gravel mix and bags of Portland cement to make up your own concrete. It's much less expensive than buying the packaged goods. I've used both. Quikrete is great for smaller jobs.

Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn't mean it is good design.

cacheriver

Thanks MountainDon. I was planning to mix by hand unless I have to rent a mixer. The reason for the premix is because like I said earlier I dont know much about concrete and it seemed simpler to me to just buy it ready to go with just adding water and and stir. I may decide after starting that I may want a mixer. LOL

cacheriver