First Visit from the PastorMan

Started by PastorMan, April 25, 2006, 12:18:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PastorMan

Howdy Boys and Girls!

I've been a lurker for a long time as I have a great interest in the hammer swinging trade and a dream of ditching suburbia and building a cabin in the piney woods of Texas somewhere, perhaps on a lake.  The spousal unit is not really keen on the idea yet but, maybe in time, she'll come around....

A little intro is in order:  I'm a youth pastor and high school science teacher in the North Dallas area of Texas.  Our church has taken several trips to the Mexican desert to build three room cabins for families that move to the border area to work in the manufacturing plants.  I don't have the set of plans we use in front of me but I think the dimensions are something like 16 X 20 (maybe a little wider) or so, slab on grade foundation, with a gable roof and a loft area for sleeping the little ones.

We've done this for several years now, but this year we're focusing our efforts on one of our members whose home is in pretty significant disrepair.  We were going to try and remodel but it turns out that would be a losing battle..too much to fix.  Every time we open up one part of this old structure we find something else that needs attention.  The biggest hang up is the foundation.  Apparently it is based on something called Bodark.  It looks like telephone poles sunk into the ground to me with the house set on top and it's a big NO NO with the city.

All that said, we've elected to build from scratch.  The plan we'll be purchasing from John will be the 1 and 1/2 story cabin.  We'll be dividing the top floor into two bedrooms.