Radiant heat anyone installed it in a slab?

Started by rdzone, June 06, 2006, 03:54:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rdzone

Well I have my foundation hole done and a really good qoute for a block basement, now I am looking at possibly installing pex tubing in the slab for future radiant heat.  The mason said as long as I (or someone) ran the tubing it wouldn't cost me any more $$.  Anyone ever installed the tubing over mesh before?  Looks simple enough.  I know runs should be less than 300' , I will need several zones, need insulation,  and I will need a manifold, but I don't think there is anything else needed at this time.  Anyone have any input?
Chuck

Daddymem

Here's a link to a FirstDay cottage with both radiant heat in the basement slab as well as in the main floor...nice pictures.
http://www.hazbro.com/first-day/radiant.html
Où sont passées toutes nos nuits de rêve?
Aide-moi à les retrouver.
" I'm an engineer Cap'n, not a miracle worker"

http://littlehouseonthesandpit.wordpress.com/

mclausen