Home Designer

Started by Ray-Jeffries, August 31, 2006, 08:44:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ray-Jeffries

Hello, i'm new to this forum, seems like a great place to leard. I am an architectural designer and I am thinking of going at it on my own, designing homes, barns and outbuildings. I have designed several homes in my spare time, i work for a registered architect so i pretty much stay busy w/ multi family and public housing work.
I have been with this architect for 8 years, before that i designed nothing but homes with a designer for 7 years and loved it thats why i do some homes in my spare time.
the reason i have not went on my own is the fact that well my current employer takes good care of me and insurence is a factor also, but i really want to be in buisness for myself. my question is, i am in Alabama and was wondering in you have to have a special license to be able to design homes full time, i know from past experience that an architectural stamp is usually not req'd. sorry for being so long, but just thought i'd ask, maybe someone can help me out.

John Raabe

Welcome to the Forum, Ray:

In most states no license is needed to design homes. You have to have a business license, of course, if you are charging for services.

There are guilds that mimic the AIA and these organizations will certify building designers and allow them to use logos and such to the effect that they are registered building designers with the American Institute of Building Designers. This is primarily used to impress clients and charge higher fees. It makes no difference to the building department or the state licensing agency.