Hello all, looking for suggestions.

Started by JDR, May 10, 2015, 04:15:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JDR

Hello all, newbie here looking for suggestions.

Purchased my off grid property this past month in Western Montana.
My "idea" as of right now is to get a well drilled, septic installed, and build a small (thinking 14 x 20) cabin with a sleeping loft until I can build my main house. I'm hoping that I will have enough money left after these expenses to have a foundation built for the main house.

I'm curious about foundations for my builds, specifically shallow frost proof foundations. Does anyone have any experience with these? How's the cost in comparison to pier beam foundation and other types of foundations?
The property is gently sloping (at most im guessing probably 3% grade in some places, and where the main house will sit to capture the most sunlight and mountain views) Can the SFPF be built on a slope or does it have to be at level grade? I had considered a daylight basement for the main home but don't know if I want to spend that much money for excavation and concrete (that's another issues, property has good access but I believe a concrete truck would have a hard time getting to the property due to the low trees)Any suggestions to an ignorant newbie would greatly appreciated.. JDR

rick91351

First off  w* to a neighbor.  We are across the state line and further to the west.

Matter of fact seems as if there is one you might review.... It is listed as A Victoria's Cottage in Western Maine

http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=8803.0

I think some of your questions should be addressed locally with a local engineer.  Some can be touched on here.   
Proverbs 24:3-5 Through wisdom is an house builded; an by understanding it is established.  4 And by knowledge shall the chambers be filled with all precious and pleasant riches.  5 A wise man is strong; yea, a man of knowledge increaseth strength.

JDR

Hello Rick, thanks for the info.