Need help with finding good heat pump system

Started by rockchuk, August 25, 2006, 08:45:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rockchuk

Hi Guys, it's been awhile and I hope thou art well (you can tell I just returned from watching a Shakepere play ....I try to do so about every 3 years to keep wife 'cultured' :))

Say....I need to put a heat pump system in my house as I've been heating with wood alone for 6 years now, and my back is such that I really can;t trust it like I used to to get wood so regularly....also, whenever I sell this place I'm going to need some kind of heating system.  I know absolutely zippo about heat pumps at this point (except how they work), but I do know that they are supposed to be the the ticket in my area here.  I'm going to delve into this on the net, but I wanted to turn to the forum here first and hopefully not have to reinvent the wheel all over again.  So any help you can offer is greatly appreciated!

These are my considerations:

***- I live on the southern Oregon coast so the climate is mild

***- My house is only 1,300 sq feet, one story, with enough crawlspace under the wooden floor for ducting

***- I am handy enough that I want to do as much of this as possible myself because money is tight right now (who am I kidding, it's always tight) - I'm decent enough at electrical too.

Are there any dealers or brands in particular that you would recommend?  I have no problem buying via the internet as long as the dealer is excellent.

What potential problems should I know about?  Heck, anything you may be able to throw my way, or any experiences or advice is greatly appreciated.  Please HELP guys....in turn, I'll keep you informed of the ups and downs of my project as it progresses (any tricks and tips I learn).  I have to get this thing in before the rains come (mid Oct).  Can you steer me the right direction please??

THANK YOU!!!

rockchuk

glenn-k