Plumbing/Wiring Underground Cistern

Started by midrover170, April 12, 2016, 05:01:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

midrover170

Hi folks -

My 325 gallon Norwesco spherical tank arrived yesterday, coincidentally the same day the County approved my test holes and septic/water layout. I'll probably be placing the tank in 1-2 weeks and wanted some input on plumbing and wiring these. Let me get this out there in open: I'm a ROOKIE when it comes to this stuff. So be easy on me. Lots of questions.

I'd like to plumb the tank to my utility room where I'll have a smaller, 50-100 gallon holding tank. The distance from cistern to holding tank is roughly 50ft. horizontal and then maybe 8ft. vertical to where the holding tank inlet will be. Ideally, when solar is installed, I could just flip a switch in the utility room and fill up the holding tank. What type of pump is best for this? Submersible lift I'm guessing? If so, anyone have recommendation/direction for figuring out size - both for water line and pump? On wiring, I'm also guessing that would be buried in conduit in the supply line trench? The tank also needs a vent pipe, yes? If so, I could run that directly up with an 180 degree elbow at the top?

What about maintenance? Say this sump pump goes out on me, are there any tricks to making replacement and/or general maintenance easier? I have a 20" dia. riser that will be poking above the dirt, that doesn't leave much room to access parts/pieces.

Final question: Transferring water from my haul tank (back of truck) into the spherical. Should I plumb in a hookup for, say, a garden hose? Or, should I just open up the hatch and drain it directly in?

Thanks, and again, apologies for my lack of know-how on this stuff.

- D

MountainDon