Pump jacks or scaffolding?

Started by C.Oden, December 30, 2013, 05:30:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

C.Oden

Thoughts on pros and cons of each from you pros.  ;)
Seeing as I have no experience with either really I am totally open to any and all thoughts
I have abundance of both around me right now that are priced reasonable and since the build begins this spring I am thinking of buying now - cheaper - and selling when we are done with them.
The terrain is not necessarily level on 2 sides if that would make a difference in thought process.

Don_P

Pump jacks are easier to move around, better on uneven ground and easier to get hurt on. Scaffold is stronger, more stable, easier to erect and take down, the downside is getting it safely levelled on uneven ground. I have both and usually use scaffold.

C.Oden

Thanks Don --- is the main safety issue on the jacks the width of the planks and potential to take a dive or more than that?
I see close by a Werner setup - jacks, al. posts including 20" wide x 20' a.l planks for $550 used. Condition is said to be near new. The price certainly seems right vs scaffolding but safety big concern always too.
I can see where scaffolding on the sides of build will be issue due to slope...but imagine that can be resolved in some manner safely.

Again - thanks for the input and advise!

Don_P